D



IoT / Gateway / Edge / Fog / Controller...

The IoT is by far the fastest growing segment of IT, with around 20 billion connected devices. It includes devices connected via the Internet, from sensors to assembly lines to 'smart home' devices, and keeps industrial companies, CIOs and data center operators busy.

The challenges are not obvious at first glance. Managing the connected devices and their software is an often underestimated problem, especially for applications that come from the classic control world.

Industrial IoT devices (also called Industry 4.0) can be roughly divided into end devices (sensors, actuators, controllers, operating devices) and gateways, Edge or Fog controllers. What they all have in common, provided they have a certain performance level, is that they usually operate under a Linux operating system. Regardless of whether the devices end up connected to a cloud from a well-known provider (Amazon, Microsoft, Google, SAP, Siemens, etc.) or not, they all have the ability to communicate with external devices over the Internet. Therefore, they have many things in common regardless of the dedicated task of the devices. The most important ones are:

a) establish a secure connection of the end devices or gateways/edge controllers to the cloud
b) collect data, if necessary, pre-process it (analysis, preparation, visualization) and transfer it securely to the cloud
c) to be configured via the cloud, to interact with the cloud and finally to receive updates

The following tasks are typical for IIoT devices:

  • Onboarding / Provisioning
  • Configuration, monitoring and control
  • Secure data transmission
  • Updates and maintenance

With our Industrie 4.0 software kit, all your IIoT device requirements can be met.

Towards the factory, we support the familiar fieldbuses, but also more recent approaches such as OPC UA (incl. Pub/Sub) and, if already required, TSN. The connection of known PLC controls via S5 / S7, Modbus or Codesys PLCHandler is possible out-of-the-box.

MS Azure, AWS, Google Cloud...

On the cloud side, not only the connectivity to Microsoft or Amazon, Google, etc. is supported thanks to OPC UA, MQTT, OMA Lightweight M2M, Rest API, etc., but also all providers whose interfaces follow open standards.

A (hardened) Linux is used on the devices themselves, preferably also in combination with a hypervisor that is prepared for the secure use of containers. Secure boot, secure communication connections (TLS; VPN), encrypted data and programs can of course be offered. (See also Security and IGL.)

PLC - today almost all PLC solutions are based on a SoftPLC. And very many of them are based on a Linux with Preempt-RT. So nothing is easier than adding a controller. Whether this runs as a native application or in a container or isolated in a virtual machine, that is up to your solution. (-> Link to our results of a PLC in a VM, as soon as available!)

The use of Linux allows, for example, for Edge or Fog controllers, that the desired applications (mostly these are open source programmes) are rolled out as containers. Further information on Eclipse (e.g. Kura, Kapua) and Linux Foundation (e.g. EdgeX Foundry, Appstacle).

The onboarding / provisioning of the devices can be adapted to the application and the hardware used. Regardless of whether it has already been prepared by the chip manufacturer or only at your site during final production, whether special specifications of the chip manufacturer have to be observed, whether authentication is to take place via special servers or via your own server, we have the appropriate solution for every requirement.

Together with you, we will work out an update (OTA) option that can be adapted to your existing structure if necessary. If you do not yet have an update and device management server, we can work with you to create a solution using open source software. You can find more information about updates here.

The device management server can be utilised for continuous monitoring of the devices. Corresponding support on the device side for the exchange of information, for example via OPC UA, is then integrated into the BSP.

We offer optional lifetime support for the Industrial Grade Linux as well as for the other components.

E



IoT / Gateway / Edge / Fog / Controller...

Das IoT ist mit aktuell rund 20 Milliarden angebundenen Devices das mit Abstand am schnellsten wachsende Segment der IT. Es umfasst Geräte, die über das Internet verbunden sind, von Sensoren über Fließbänder bis hin zu 'Smart Home' - Geräten und beschäftigt Industrieunternehmen, CIOs und Betreiber von Rechenzentren.

Die Herausforderungen sind nicht auf den ersten Blick zu erkennen. Das Management der angeschlossenen Geräte und deren Software ist ein oft unterschätztes Problem, gerade bei Anwendungen, die aus der klassischen Steuerungswelt kommen.

Industrielle IoT Geräte (auch Industrie 4.0 genannt) kann man grob in Endgeräte (Sensoren, Aktoren, Steuerungen, Bediengeräte) und Gateways, Edge oder Fog Controller unterteilen. Ihnen allen ist, sofern sie eine gewisse Leistungsfähigkeit besitzen, gemein, dass sie meist unter einem Linux Betriebssystem arbeiten. Unabhängig davon, ob die Geräte am Ende mit einer Cloud eines bekannten Anbieters (Amazon, Microsoft, Google, SAP, Siemens etc.) verbunden werden oder nicht, sie alle besitzen die Kommunikationsfähigkeit mit externen Geräten über das Internet. Daher gibt es auch viele Gemeinsamkeiten unabhängig von der dedizierten Aufgabenstellung der Geräte. Die wichtigsten sind:

a) eine sichere Verbindung der Endgeräte oder Gateways/ Edge Controller zur Cloud zu etablieren
b) Daten ggfs. zu sammeln, zu vorverarbeiten (Analyse, Aufbereitung, Visualisierung) und sicher in die Cloud zu übertragen
c) über die Cloud konfiguriert zu werden, mit der Cloud zu interagieren und schlussendlich Updates zu erhalten.

Typisch für IIoT Geräte sind folgende Aufgabenstellungen:

  • Onboarding / Provisioning
  • Konfiguration, Überwachung und Kontrolle
  • Sichere Datenübertragung
  • Updates und Wartung

Mit unserem Industrie 4.0 Software Kit lassen sich alle Ihre Anforderungen an Ihr IIoT Gerät erfüllen.

Zur Fabrik hin unterstützen wir die bekannten Feldbusse, aber auch neuere Ansätze wie OPC UA (inkl. Pub/Sub) und, sofern schon benötigt, TSN. Die Anbindung bekannter SPS Steuerungen über S5 / S7, Modbus oder Codesys PLCHandler ist out-of-the-box möglich.

 

MS Azure, AWS, Google Cloud...

Zur Cloud hin werden nicht nur die Anbindung an Microsoft oder Amazon, Google etc. unterstützt dank OPC UA, MQTT, OMA Lightweight M2M, Rest API etc., sondern auch alle Anbieter, deren Schnittstellen offenen Standards folgen.

Auf den Geräten selbst kommt ein (gehärtetes) Linux zum Einsatz, gerne auch in Kombination mit einem Hypervisor, das für die sichere Nutzung von Containern vorbereitet ist. Ab-gesichertes Booten (secure boot), abgesicherte Kommunikationsverbindungen (TLS; VPN), verschlüsselte Daten und Programme können selbstverständlich angeboten werden. (Siehe dazu auch Security und IGL.)

SPS – heute basieren fast alle SPS Lösungen auf einer SoftSPS. Und sehr viele davon basieren auf einem Linux mit Preempt-RT. Nichts ist also einfacher, als eine Steuerung hinzuzufügen. Ob diese als native Applikation läuft oder in einem Container oder abgeschottet in einer virtuellen Maschine, das bleibt Ihrer Lösung überlassen. (-> Link auf unsere Ergebnisse einer SPS in einer VM, sobald vorhanden!)

Die Nutzung von Linux erlaubt es beispielsweise für Edge- oder Fog Controller, dass die gewünschten Anwendungen (meist sind dies Open Source Programme) als Container ausgerollt werden. Weiterführende Informationen auf Eclipse (z.B. Kura, Kapua) und Linux Foundation  (z.B. EdgeX Foundry, Appstacle).

Das Onboarding / Provisioning der Geräte kann an den Einsatzzweck und die verwendete Hardware angepasst werden. Egal ob vom Chip Hersteller bereits vorbereitet oder erst bei Ihnen in der Endfertigung, ob spezielle Vorgaben des Chip Herstellers zu beachten sind, ob die Authentifikation über spezielle Server oder über ihren eigenen Server erfolgen soll, wir haben für jede Anforderung die entsprechende Lösung.


Zusammen mit Ihnen erarbeiten wir eine Update (OTA) Möglichkeit, die gegebenenfalls an Ihr bereits vorhandene Struktur angepasst werden kann. Sollte bei Ihnen noch kein Update- und Device Management Server vorhanden sein, so könne wir gemeinsam eine Lösung aus Open Source Software erstellen. Weitere Infomationen zum Update finden Sie hier.

 

Der Device Management Server kann zur kontinuierlichen Überwachung (Monitoring) der Geräte eingesetzt werden. Entsprechende Unterstützung auf der Geräteseite zum Austausch der Informationen zum Beispiel via OPC UA wird dann in das BSP mit integriert.

Sowohl für das Industrial Grade Linux wie auch für die weiteren Komponenten bieten wir optional lebenslangen Support an.

Mehr Informationen finden Sie in unserem Datenblatt IoT Gateway Solutions.