D



IGL Software

The software stack of IGL combines a variety of proven open source components to offer you an optimal solution. With the open source build tool ELBE you can easily, efficiently and reproducibly make your own changes and adaptations and thus create your own distribution.

Linux Kernel LTS

We are using the latest longterm stable (LTS) kernel from mainline.org. Optionally supplemented with security features and, where necessary, with current software from the chip manufacturer.
With the build system ELBE you can adapt the kernel exactly to your requirements, rebuild it or create your own tree.

 

Debian

Our IGL root file system is built by using the Debian distribution. For you this means that you get a distribution that is available for the long term.

Customized changes to the user space are possible at any time or can be done with the help of the build tool ELBE on your own.

If you need a version without GPLv3 software, just ask us.

 

U-Boot

Our usual boot loader for non-x-86 architectures. Allows secure booting (secure / measured boot) and the creation of a root of trust (supported by HW). Because of its flexibility also suitable for fastboot.

If supported by the SoC, the bootloader can also be part of an OTA update.

 

ELBE

Build system to reproducibly build an optimal embedded distribution from Debian, LTS kernel, bootloader and other components. ELBE makes it possible to compile and debianize each component if required. So also 3rd party products and own applications can be used as Debian package. By means of the integrated OTA update capability the distribution always remains on the most current security and performance level.

Our optimized memory layout allows the separation of operating system, configuration, applications and persistent user settings. Bootloader, operating system and applications can therefore each be updated independently.

 

podman

Container runtime, compatible with Docker, but due to smaller code base and higher security level much better suited for the embedded area. Enables applications to be separated from the operating system quickly and easily by using containers and thus, for example, to build edge controllers. Optional profile of IGL, is therefore not always part of IGL.

 

OP-TEE

Open Portable Trusted Execution Environment is an open software for using a TEE available on ARM SoCs in the form of the Trusted Zone (TZ). OP-TEE supports numerous platforms from Raspi to the latest ARM architecture. Trusted Apps (TA) developed against the OP-TEE API are executable on all of these platforms.

The combination of TZ, OP-TEE, TA and special eMMC memories allows the realization of firmware TPMs (fTPM) according to the TPM2.0 standard. This makes it possible, for example, to create a root of trust, but also to ensure secure certificate handling. OP-TEE belongs to the optional profile Security and is therefore not always part of IGL.

 

WireGuard / openVPN

These two packages enable secure, encrypted communication via VPN tunnel. IGL includes full support for these two packages in the optional Security profile. The associated VPN server is not part of our IGL.

 

 

Cloud Connection

In addition to the standard communication protocols, we also support OPC UA (and PubSub) and MQTT in the cloud profile. Thus it is easy to establish connections to the majority of major cloud providers. This works particularly well together with our optional onboarding/provisioning services. We also offer preconfigured accesses on request.

 

 

Security

This optional profile hardens our IGL and can be specifically adapted to your requirements. Always included though are features like Secure or Measured Boot, fTPM or TPM support for root of trust and key/certificate handling. Linux Security Module (LSM) like apparmor, Capabilities and Linux Container support allow a fine granular definition of the behavior. Mandatory Access Control (MAC) allows whitelisting of applications. Monitoring of user applications is done by Linux modules like IMA/EVM. An update mechanism with at least signed modules allows continuous and secure maintenance of the system with fixes for security and bugs.

Your application can be linked to the hardware and stored in encrypted form so that it can run on this hardware exclusively. This prevents unauthorized duplication as well as the readout and analysis of your know-how.

 

 

License Compliance

Standard license metadata simplify the handling on license compliance. We use open source files for our IGL from the most widely used distribution in the world, and we list all licenses used for each component. This saves you a lot of work.

E



IGL Software

Der Software Stack von IGL vereint eine Vielzahl von bewährten Open Source Komponenten, um Ihnen eine optimale Lösung anbieten zu können. Mit dem Open Source Build Werkzeug ELBE könne Sie jederzeit einfach, effizient und reproduzierbar Ihre eigenen Änderungen und Anpassungen daran vornehmen und so ihre eigene Distribution erstellen.

Linux Kernel LTS

Wir nutzen hierfür den aktuellen longterm stable (LTS) Kernel von mainline.org. Optional ergänzt um Sicherheitsmerkmale und, wo notwendig, um aktuelle Software vom Chip Hersteller.
Mit dem Buildsystem ELBE können Sie den Kernel exakt an Ihre Anforderungen anpassen, neu bauen oder ihren eigenen Tree erstellen.

 

Debian

Unser IGL root file system wird mit Hilfe der Debian Distribution erstellt. Für Sie bedeutet das, dass Sie eine langfristig verfügbare Distribution erhalten.

Kundenspezifische Änderungen am User Space sind jederzeit möglich oder können mit Hilfe des Build Werkezuges ELBE selber vorgenommen werden.

Sollten Sie eine Version ohne GPLv3 Software benötigen, so fragen Sie uns einfach danach.

 

U-Boot

Unser üblicher Bootloader für Nicht x-86 Architekturen. Ermöglicht sicheres Booten (secure / measured boot) und damit die Erstellung einer root of trust (mit HW Unterstützung). Dank seiner Flexibilität auch für Fastboot geeignet.
Falls das SoC es unterstützt, kann der Bootloader auch Teil eines OTA Updates sein.

 

ELBE

Buildsystem, um reproduzierbar aus Debian, LTS Kernel, Bootloader und weiteren Komponenten eine optimale Embedded Distribution zu bauen. ELBE ermöglicht es, jede Komponente bei Bedarf selbst zu übersetzen und zu debianisieren. So können auch 3rd Party Produkte und eigne Anwendungen als Debian Paket zum Einsatz kommen. Mittels der integrierten OTA Updatefähigkeit bleibt die Distribution immer auf dem aktuellsten Sicherheits- und Leistungsstand.

Unser optimiertes Speicherlayout ermöglicht die Trennung von Betriebssystem, Konfiguration, Anwendungen und persistenter Nutzereinstellungen. Bootloader, Betriebssystem und Anwendungen können daher jeweils unabhängig einem Update unterzogen werden.

 

podman

Container Runtime, kompatibel zu Docker, aber dank kleinerer Codebasis und höherem Security Level deutlich besser für den Embedded Bereich geeignet. Ermöglicht es durch Nutzung von Containern einfach und schnell Applikationen vom Betriebssystem zu trennen und damit beispielsweise Edge Controller aufzubauen. Optionales Profil von IGL, ist daher nicht immer Bestandteil von IGL.

 

OP-TEE

Open Portable Trusted Execution Environment ist eine offene Software zur Nutzung eines TEE, das auf ARM SoCs in Form der Trusted Zone (TZ) zur Verfügung steht. OP-TEE unterstützt zahlreiche Plattformen vom Raspi bis zur neuesten ARM Architektur. Trusted Apps (TA), die gegen die OP-TEE API entwickelt wurden, sind auf all diesen Plattformen lauffähig.

Die Kombination aus TZ, OP-TEE, TA und speziellen eMMC Speichern erlaubt die Realisierung von Firmware TPMs (fTPM) nach dem TPM2.0 Standard. Damit kann beispielsweise ein root of trust erzeugt werden, aber auch ein sicheres Zertifikatshandling gewährleistet werden. OP-TEE gehört zum optionalen Profil Security und ist daher nicht immer Bestandteil von IGL.

 

WireGuard / openVPN

Diese zwei Pakete ermöglichen eine sichere, verschlüsselte Kommunikation mittels VPN Tunnel. IGL beinhaltet im optionalen Profil Security eine vollständige Unterstützung für diese beiden Pakete. Der dazugehörige VPN Server ist nicht Teil unseres IGL.

 

 

Cloud Anbindung

Im Cloud Profil unterstützen wir neben den Standard Kommunika-tionsprotokollen auch OPC UA (und PubSub) sowie MQTT. Damit lassen sich Verbindungen zu der Mehrheit der großen Cloud Anbieter problemlos aufbauen. Besonders einfach funktioniert dies in Verbindung mit unseren optionalen Onboarding/Provisioning Services. Auf Anfrage bieten wir auch vorkonfigurierte Zugänge an.

 

 

Security

Dieses optionale Profil härtet unser IGL und kann spezifisch an Ihre Wünsche angepasst werden. Grundsätzlich aber immer dabei sind Features wie Secure oder Measured Boot, fTPM bzw. TPM Support zur Erzeugung eines root of trust und für die Schlüssel/Zertifikat Handhabung. Linux Security Module (LSM) wie apparmor, Capabilities und Linux Container Unterstützung erlauben eine feingranulare Definition des Verhaltens. Mandatory Access Control (MAC) erlaubt das Whitelisting von Anwendungen. Die Überwachung von User Anwendungen erfolgt mittels Linux Modulen wie IMA/EVM. Ein Update Mechanismus mit mindestens signierten Modulen erlaubt die kontinuierliche, sichere Wartung des Systems mit Fixen zu Security und Bugs.

Ihre Anwendung kann mit der Hardware gekoppelt und derart verschlüsselt abgelegt werden, dass sie nur auf dieser Hardware lauffähig ist. Damit wird sowohl die unerlaubte Vervielfältigung unterbunden wie auch das Auslesen bzw. Annalysieren Ihres KnowHows.

 

 

Lizenzkonformität

Standard Lizenz-Metadaten vereinfachen die Handhabung auf Lizenzerfüllung. Wir nutzen für unser IGL offene Quelldateien aus der weltweit am meisten genutzten Distribution und wir listen alle genutzten Lizenzen für jede Komponente auf. So sparen Sie sich viel Arbeit.