Our website uses cookies for functional and statistical purposes as well as for your convenience. By continuing to use this website you agree to the use of cookies. Additional information can be found in our data protection statement.
OK

D



Keep OVER-the-Air Updates secure and flexible with Linux

Course Description

Security is a key consideration when developing new devices. Anyone who has been involved with systems security knows: Security requires ongoing commitment! Software components (and, as recent events have shown, hardware components also) may contain bugs which have to be patched via an update. But how can updates be organised in such a way that they cannot be used for attacks or for perpetrating malware? Are there any tools available that can help? How can I ascertain that only trusted software is used on my device?

This training provides an overview of the most significant design concepts and recommended tools to execute a safe update of systems based on Linux. The course consists of 2 modules. The first module deals with the opportunities which modern system-on chips offer in combination with hardware, bootloader and operating system to ensure a secure boot. You will be introduced to various implementations of hardware-assisted security mechanisms (built-in, TPM, crypto chip = root of trust), as well as software-based approaches (chain of trust).

In the second module we will introduce you to an open-source framework for updating your system. Because when it comes to updates, there is no need to reinvent the wheel! There is software available that can be re-used and customized for specific applications. Here again, the focus is on security. The framework allows an update on the basis of complete images, but also on file-based packages. Next to over-the-air updates, all other media for file transfer are supported.

Update scenarios that run the final system with third-party software but are required to have their update carried out by the OEM, are supported by the framework which will be presented.
In addition, efficient update routines require a powerful and easy-to-apply roll-out service. We will introduce you to an appropriate open source project which fully corresponds with the demonstrated update framework. Besides customizing the look and feel for the user, this service also supports security-relevant requirements such as authentication, encryption, as well as push and pull features for communication with end-user devices. Different device management protocols may be applied.

Requirements

To participate in this course, a basic knowledge of the Linux operating system and profound practical knowledge of Shell are required.

Agenda

  • Presentation HW based root of trust, TPM, Crypto
  • Differences of concepts
  • Swupdate
  • Hawkbit

Information

Duration: 1 day

Dates for 2019 coming soon.

Course fees: 950,- Euro excl. VAT

Registration: Contact us at "schulung[at]linutronix[dot]de"

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Wenn Sie auf unserer Webseite weitersurfen, stimmen Sie dem zu. Nähere Informationen zu den bei uns verwendeten Cookies finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.
OK

E



Over the Air Updates sicher und flexibel gestalten mit Linux

Kursbeschreibung

Security ist ein zentraler Aspekt bei der Entwicklung neuer Geräte. Und jeder, der sich schon einmal mit der Absicherung von Systemen beschäftigt hat weiß: Security ist kein Einmalaufwand! Sofwarekomponenten (und wie die jüngsten Ereignisse zeigen auch Hardwarekomponenten) können Fehler enthalten, welche durch ein Update behoben werden müssen. Doch wie lassen sich Updates so gestalten, dass diese nicht selbst für Attacken oder für das Einschleusen von Schadsoftware genutzt werden können? Gibt es Werkzeuge, die einem dabei helfen können? Wie stelle ich sicher, dass nur vertrauenswürdige Software auf meinem Gerät läuft?

Dieses Training gibt einen Überblick zu den wichtigsten Designkonzepten und den empfohlenen Tools zum sicheren Update Linux basierter Systeme. Der Kurs gliedert sich in 2 Blöcke. Im ersten Block behandeln wir die Möglichkeiten, die moderne System-On-Chips in Kombination von Hardware, Bootloader und Betriebssystem im Hinblick auf ein abgesichertes Starten („secure boot") bieten. Dabei werden die verschiedenen Implementierungen von Hardware unterstützten Sicherheitsmechanismen (built-in, TPM, Krypto-Chip = root of trust) ebenso vorgestellt wie Software basierte Ansätze (chain of trust).

Im zweiten Block stellen wir Ihnen ein Open Source Framework für ein Update Ihres Systems vor. Denn beim Thema Update muss man das Rad nicht neu erfinden! Es gibt Software, die man wiederverwenden und auf seinen eigenen Anwendungsfall anpassen kann. Auch hier steht die Sicherheit („security") wieder im Vordergrund. Das Framework ermöglicht ein Update auf Basis von kompletten Images, aber auch auf Filebasis (Pakete). Neben Over the Air Updates werden auch alle anderen Medien zur Datenübertragung unterstützt.
Auch Updateszenarien, bei denen im Endprodukt Software von Drittanbietern zum Einsatz kommt, das Update selbst aber durch den OEM erfolgen muss, werden von dem vorgestellten Framework unterstützt.

Ein vernünftiges Updatekonzept benötigt auch einen leistungsfähigen und einfach nutzbaren Roll-Out Service. Wir stellen Ihnen ein entsprechendes Open Source Projekt vor, welches auf das vorgestellte Update Framework abgestimmt ist. Neben Anpassungen im Look and Feel für die Nutzung unterstützt dieser Service auch sicherheitsrelevante Anforderungen wie Authentifizierung, Verschlüsselung und Push und Pull Methoden zur Kommunikation mit den Endgeräten. Hier zu können unterschiedliche Device Management Protokolle zum Einsatz kommen.

Ablauf:

  • Vorstellung HW basiertes root of trust, TPM, Krypto
  • Unterschiede der Konzepte
  • Swupdate
  • Hawkbit

Voraussetzungen

Zur Teilnahme an diesem Kurs setzen wir Grundkenntnisse des Betriebssystems Linux und den sicheren Umgang mit der Shell voraus.

Informationen

Dauer: 1 Tag

Termine:

  • 13.11.2018

Kosten: 950,- Euro zzgl. MwSt.

Anmeldung: Kontaktieren Sie uns unter "schulung[at]linutronix[dot]de"