Our website uses cookies for functional and statistical purposes as well as for your convenience. By continuing to use this website you agree to the use of cookies. Additional information can be found in our data protection statement.
OK

D



Jailhouse

Development of the open source hypervisor Jailhouse started in 2014. Jailhouse was specifically designed for isolated real-time applications, whether bare-metal or RTOS based, or certifiable software.

Jailhouse employs asymmetric multiprocessing (AMP) to accomplish its purpose. With Jailhouse, hardware is statically partitioned and individual CPUs and devices strictly separated.

The overarching aim of this design is simplicity. There should be as little coding as possible to achieve the two most important requirements of Jailhouse: Real-time capability and certifiability (verifiability).

Jailhouse is thus a type 2 hypervisor, in other words built on an operating system (in this case: Linux). Linux assumes the entire first initialization of the hardware, enabling an extremely lean hypervisor. Moreover, there is a large number of supported (and supportable) hardware available. Further, it was meant to be an open source solution (GPLv2) so that processes are made transparent to everyone.

The results are compelling – Jailhouse today supports x86 and ARM (v7 and v8) processors. It is required that CPUs support a virtualization solution in the hardware (e.g. Intel VT-x, ARM VE). This enables code significantly smaller than 10 000 LoC, and real-time capability is constituted or preserved with an additional latency in the range of approx. 1 µsec which is attributable to the hypervisor.

Jailhouse therefore makes it possible to summarize solutions that were previously dispensed across several computers/systems and runs them together on a heterogenous multi-core CPU. Thanks to its ability to support various operating systems, it is often not necessary to alter applications.

Further information can be found here.

Jailhouse

Im Jahre 2014 wurde die Entwicklung des quelloffenen Hypervisor Jailhouse; gestartet. Jailhouse ist speziell für die Nutzung von isolierten Echtzeit-Anwendungen, sei es bare-metal oder RTOS basiert, oder zertifizierbarer Software entworfen worden.

Jailhouse nutzt ein asymmetrisches Multi-Processing (AMP), um seine Ziele zu erreichen. Bei Jailhouse wird die Hardware statisch partitioniert und dabei eine strikte Trennung zwischen einzelnen CPUs und Geräten durchgeführt.

Das übergeordnete Designziel ist Einfachheit. Es soll so wenig Code wie möglich zum Einsatz kommen, um die zwei wichtigsten Anforderungen an jailhouse erfüllen zu können: Echtzeitfähigkeit und Zertifizierbarkeit (Verifizierbarkeit).

Daher ist Jailhouse in Typ 2 Hypervisor, d.h. er baut auf einem Betriebssystem (hier: Linux) auf. Die komplette Erstinitialisierung der Hardware übernimmt Linux, der Hypervisor kann daher extrem schlank bleiben. Und es steht von Beginn an eine große Anzahl von unterstützter (und unterstützbarer) Hardware zur Verfügung. Und es sollte eine Open Source Lösung (GPLv2) werden, damit für jeden sichtbar ist, was wie gemacht wird.

Das Ergebnis ist überzeugend – Jailhouse unterstützt heute x86 und ARM (v7 und v8) Prozessoren. Vorausetzung ist, dass die CPUs eine Virtualiserungslösung in der Hardware unterstützt(z. Bsp. Intel VT-x; ARM VE). Dies ermöglicht Code, der jeweils deutlich kleiner als 10 000 LoC ist, und die Echtzeitfähigkeit ist mit einer zusätzlichen, auf den Hypervisor zurück zuführenden Latenz in der Größenordnung von ca. 1 µsek. gegeben bzw. bleibt erhalten.

Jailhouse ermöglicht es daher, bisher auf verschiedene Rechner/Steuerungen verteilte Lösungen zusammen zu fassen und auf einer heterogenen Multi-Core CPU auszuführen. Dank der Fähigkeit, unterschiedliche Betriebssysteme zu unterstützen, müssen die Applikationen oftmals nicht geändert werden.

Weiterführende Informationen finden Sie hier.