Our website uses cookies for functional and statistical purposes as well as for your convenience. By continuing to use this website you agree to the use of cookies. Additional information can be found in our data protection statement.
OK

D



Middleware

Middleware serves to simplify the communication between processes. It is an abstraction layer between the lower network layers and higher-level processes or applications. Its aim is to disguise the complexity of applications from each other and configure the exchange of information (data) as easy and transparent as possible. More on this can also be found at Wikipedia/Middleware.

Without doubt, OPC (OLE for process control) and CORBA (common object request broker architecture) are among the most important middleware solutions in the field of embedded and in automation technology.

Middleware is often said to be too big and too cumbersome, and only applicable to large machines. And especially not relevant for tasks that depend on short response times.

Modern developments such as OPC UA or Corba ACE/TAO demonstrate the opposite day after day. Here at Linutronix, we have expertise in both approaches and will gladly support you with the implementation of these technologies.

Middleware

Eine Middleware dient dazu, die Kommunikation zwischen Prozessen zu vereinfachen. Es ist eine Abstraktionsschicht zwischen den tieferen Netzwerk-Schichten und den übergeordneten Prozessen oder Applikationen. Ziel ist es, die Komplexität der Anwendungen voreinander zu verbergen und den Austausch von Informationen (Daten) so einfach und transparent wie möglich zu gestalten. Mehr dazu auch unter Wikipedia/Middleware.

Zu den wichtigsten Vertretern von Middleware im Embedded Bereich bzw. in der Automatisierungstechnik gehören zweifelsohne OPC (OLE for process control) und CORBA (common object request broker architecture).

Vielfach wird Middleware nachgesagt, dass sie zu groß, zu schwerfällig sei und wenn, dann nur auf großen Maschinen einsetzbar sei. Und schon gar nicht, wenn es um Aufgabenstellungen geht, bei denen es auf kurze Reaktionszeiten ankommt.

Moderne Entwicklungen wie OPC UA oder Corba ACE/TAO beweisen Tag für Tag das Gegenteil. Wir bei Linutronix haben Know How mit beiden Ansätzen und unterstützen Sie gerne beim Einsatz dieser Technologien.