Our website uses cookies for functional and statistical purposes as well as for your convenience. By continuing to use this website you agree to the use of cookies. Additional information can be found in our data protection statement.
OK

D



Debian – Security, Durability, Reproducibility!

Debian is one of the longest-serving and most comprehensive Linux distributions on the market. Debian offers an enormous amount of pre-compiled packages for various CPU architectures: x86 (32-bit and 64-bit), ARM (with and without hardware floating-point unit), PowerPC, MIPS and many more. The myriad of supported architectures is what makes this technology especially interesting for the embedded environment.

Many aspects of interest in the embedded field are already covered. Debian lays great emphasis on security, among others. For every package, security updates are provided in regular intervals, along with the option of automatic notification alerts for available updates.

Being a ready-made distribution, Debian requires tools to tailor it to the respective use case. Linux has developed the build system ELBE for the reproducible creation of such systems (http://elbe-rfs.org/). ELBE supports the generation of a customized Linux distribution for your board and offers comprehensive features such as the maintenance of open source licenses and the integration of proprietary programs.

ELBE is an open source solution – you are not placing yourself in a vendor lock-in! We support you with any services you require to successfully implement ELBE into your project! This includes, among others, the creation of Debian-based BSPs, trainings and workshops to the build system ELBE, and of course also the maintenance of your distribution!

Debian - Sicherheit, Langlebigkeit, Reproduzierbarkeit!

Debian ist eine der ältesten und umfangreichsten Linux-Distributionen am Markt. Debian bietet eine enorme Anzahl vorkompilierter Pakete für unterschiedliche CPU Architekturen an: x86 (32-bit und 64-bit), ARM (mit und ohne Hardware Floating Point Unit), PowerPC, MIPS und viele mehr. Die Vielzahl der unterstützten Architekturen macht diese Technologie für das Embedded Umfeld besonders interessant.

Viele Aspekte, die im Embedded Umfeld von Interesse sind, werden bereits abgedeckt. So legt Debian unter anderem sehr großen Wert auf Security. Für von Sicherheitslücken betroffenen Paketen wird meißt noch am Tag der Publizierung des Problems ein Update zur Verfügung gestellt, welches das Securityproblem behebt. Sowohl eine automatisierte Benachrichtigung bei verfügbaren Updates als auch unattended Security Updates sind möglich.

Da Debian eine fertige Distribution darstellt, sind Werkzeuge notwendig, um Debian auf den jeweiligen Anwendungsfall maßzuschneidern. Für das reproduzierbare Erstellen solcher Systeme hat Linutronix das Buildsystem ELBE entwickelt (http://elbe-rfs.org/). ELBE unterstützt Sie beim Generieren einer maßgeschneiderten Linux-Distribution für Ihr Board und bietet umfangreiche Features, wie zum Beispiel die Verwaltung von Open-Source-Lizenzen oder die Integration eigener Programme.

ELBE ist eine Open-Source-Lösung, Sie begeben sich in keinen Vendor Lock-In! Wir unterstützen Sie mit allen notwendigen Dienstleistungen, damit Sie Debian erfolgreich in Ihrem Projekt einsetzen können! Dies beeinhaltet u.a. das Erstellen Debian-basierter BSPs, Schulungen und Workshops zum Buildsystem ELBE und selbstverständlich auch die Wartung Ihrer Distribution!